Program Advisors

Program advisors are faculty members who can help you with course selection, deciding on a major, ensuring you are meeting degree requirements, and even career advice. They serve as a valuable resource in helping you achieve your educational and career goals.

Undergraduate

Mark Rheault (Acting Department Head)
SCI 156
250 807 9630
mark.rheault@ubc.ca

Biochemistry – Medical Biology Majors / Honours
To be determined. Zoë Soon
SCI 158
250.870.9400
zoeanne.soon@ubc.ca
Ecology & Evolution Majors Microbiology Majors
Bob Lalonde
SCI 381
250.807.8764
robert.lalonde@ubc.ca
Brendan D’Souza
SCI 316
250.807.9628
brendan.dsouza@ubc.ca
Zoology Honours and Majors
Ken Savage
SCI 161
250.807.8105
ken.savage@ubc.ca

Robert Szilagyi
FIP 357
250.807.8346
robert.szilagyi@ubc.ca

Environmental Chemistry Biochemistry Chemistry
Wesley Zandberg
SCI 209
250.807.9821
wesley.zandberg@ubc.ca
Kirsten Wolthers
FIP 342
250.807.8663
kirsten.wolthers@ubc.ca
Kevin Smith
FIP 351
250.807.9933
kevin.m.smith@ubc.ca
Mathematics Physics Computer Science Major/Honours
Wayne Broughton
SCI 106
250.807.9531
wayne.broughton@ubc.ca
John Hopkinson
SCI 258
250.807.9504
john.hopkinson@ubc.ca
Students with last names A-D
Yong Gao
SCI 262
250.807.9503
cosc.advisor1@ubc.ca
Students with last names E-L
Gema Rodriquez Perez
FIP 302
250-807-8331
cosc.advisor2@ubc.ca
Students with last names M-R
Shan Du
FIP 324
250-807-8379
cosc.advisor3@ubc.ca
Students with the last names S-Z
Ifeoma Adaji
FIP 303
250-807-8332
cosc.advisor4@ubc.ca
Statistics Data Science
Lengyi Han
SCI 383
250.807.8879
Lengyi.han@ubc.ca
Irene Vrbik
SCI 104
250.807.8872
datascience.advisor@ubc.ca

Kyle Larson
SCI 398
250.807.8564
kyle.larson@ubc.ca

Earth & Environmental Sciences Freshwater Science Geography (Physical)
Craig Nichol
SCI 306
250.807.8087
craig.nichol@ubc.ca
Adam Wei
SCI 309
250.807.8750
adam.wei@ubc.ca
Michael Pidwirny
SCI 376
250.807.8758
michael.pidwirny@ubc.ca
GISC Minor Sustainability
Mathieu Bourbonnais
SCI 315
250.807.8186
mathieu.bourbonnais@ubc.ca
Nathan Pelletier
FIP 340
250.807.9265
nathan.pelletier@ubc.ca

Program Advisor TBD (contact Dr. Scott Reid at fos.students.ubco@ubc.ca)


The B.Sc. in General Studies is a specific degree option appropriate for students planning to continue their studies in professional areas such as post-secondary education, business administration, dentistry, law, medicine, or veterinary medicine.

For general questions related to science degrees, enrolment, and other academic issues, please contact:

Graduate

Biology

Karen Hodges
SCI 382
2508078763
karen.hodges@ubc.ca


Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Kirsten Wolthers
FIP 342
250.807.8663
kirsten.wolthers@ubc.ca

Chemistry

Frederic Menard
FIP 348
250.807.8225
frederic.menard@ubc.ca


Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Kirsten Wolthers
FIP 342
250.807.8663
kirsten.wolthers@ubc.ca

Mathematics

Warren Hare
ASC 353
250.807.9378
warren.hare@ubc.ca


Medical Physics

Christina Haston
ASC 347
250.807.9886
christina.haston@ubc.ca


Computer Science

Mohamed Shehata
SCI 256
250-807-9063
csgrad.coordinator@ubc.ca


Data Science

Jeff Andrews
SCI 111
250.807.9931
jeff.andrews@ubc.ca

Mohammad (Khalad) Hasan
SCI 260
250.807.8077
khalad.hasan@ubc.ca

Environmental Sciences

Alessandro Ielpi
SCI 311
250.807.8364
eesc.gradstudies.inquiry@ubc.ca

Individualized IGS Program

Stephen McNeil
FIP 352
250.807.8751
stephen.mcneil@ubc.ca