Program Advisors

Program advisors are faculty members who can help you with course selection, deciding on a major, ensuring you are meeting degree requirements, and even career advice. They serve as a valuable resource in helping you achieve your educational and career goals.

Undergraduate

Mark Rheault (Associate Head)
ASC 370
250.807.9630
mark.rheault@ubc.ca

BSc General Program Biochemistry – Medical
Richard Plunkett
SCI 163
250.807.9650
richard.plunkett@ubc.ca
Richard Plunkett
SCI 163
250.807.9650
richard.plunkett@ubc.ca
Biology Majors / Honours Ecology & Evolution Majors
Soheil Mahmoud
SCI 312
250.807.8752
soheil.mahmoud@ubc.ca
Bob Lalonde
SCI 381
250.807.8764
robert.lalonde@ubc.ca
Microbiology Majors Zoology Honours and Majors
Dan Durall
SCI 307
250.807.8759
daniel.durall@ubc.ca
Bob Lalonde
SCI 381
250-807-8764
robert.lalonde@ubc.ca

Karen Perry (Acting Head)
SCI 207
250.807.9570
karen.perry@ubc.ca

Environmental Chemistry Biochemistry Chemistry
Karen Perry
SCI 207
250.807.9570
karen.perry@ubc.ca
Kirsten Wolthers
FIP 342
250.807.8663
kirsten.wolthers@ubc.ca
Karen Perry
SCI 207
250.807.9570
karen.perry@ubc.ca

Andrew Jirasek (Department Head (PRO TEM))
ASC 354
250.807.8812
andrew.jirasek@ubc.ca

Mathematics Physics Computer Science Major/Honours
Wayne Broughton
SCI 106
250.807.9531
wayne.broughton@ubc.ca
John Hopkinson
SCI 258
250.807.9504
john.hopkinson@ubc.ca
Abdallah Mohamed
SCI 108
250.807.8247
cosc.advisor@ubc.ca
Statistics Data Science
Lengyi Han
ASC 331
250.807.8879
Lengyi.han@ubc.ca
Irene Vrbik
SCI 393
250.807.8872
datascience.advisor@ubc.ca

Ed Hornibrook
SCI 398
250.807.8059
ed.hornibrook@ubc.ca

Earth & Environmental Sciences Freshwater Science Geography (Physical)
Craig Nichol
SCI 306
250.807.8087
craig.nichol@ubc.ca
Ian Walker
FIP 339
250.807.9559
ian.walker@ubc.ca
Michael Pidwirny
SCI 376
250.807.8758
michael.pidwirny@ubc.ca

Richard Plunkett
SCI 163
250.807.9650
richard.plunkett@ubc.ca

Graduate

Biology

Miranda Hart
ASC 372
250.807.9398
miranda.hart@ubc.ca


Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Kirsten Wolthers
FIP 342
250.807.8663
kirsten.wolthers@ubc.ca

Chemistry

Frederic Menard
FIP 348
250.807.8225
frederic.menard@ubc.ca


Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Kirsten Wolthers
FIP 342
250.807.8663
kirsten.wolthers@ubc.ca

Mathematics

Warren Hare
ASC 353
250.807.9378
warren.hare@ubc.ca


Medical Physics

Christina Haston
ASC 347
250.807.9886
christina.haston@ubc.ca


Computer Science

Mohamed Shehata
SCI 256
250-807-9063
mohamed.sami.shehata@ubc.ca


Data Science

Jeff Andrews
SCI 111
250.807.9931
jeff.andrews@ubc.ca

Mohammad (Khalad) Hasan
SCI 260
250.807.8077
khalad.hasan@ubc.ca