Dean’s Office

Dean

Gino DiLabio
Professor – Chemistry, Management
gino.dilabio@ubc.ca
250.807.8617
ASC 401

 

Charlene Wehrmann
Assistant to the Dean
charlene.wehrmann@ubc.ca
250.807.9527
ASC 405

Heather Munn
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
heather.munn@ubc.ca
250.807.9597
ASC 413

Associate Dean Portfolios

Associate Dean, Faculty and Research

Lael Parrott
Professor, Biology & Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences
lael.parrott@ubc.ca
250.807.8122
ASC 451

Portfolio: Provides leadership and oversight for the Faculty’s research, scholarly activities, and collaborative initiatives and partnerships. The portfolio is also responsible for the development, implementation, and sustenance of a multi-year strategic personnel plan that promotes proactive recruitment, retention, career advancement, recognition, and ongoing success of an excellent and diverse community of colleagues. Responsibilities include, among others:

  • designing, reviewing, and implementing a Faculty research plan;
  • providing leadership in developing Faculty hiring strategies for programs and departments;
  • proving leadership and support for research initiatives that promote Indigenous inclusion and the values of respect, relationship, responsibility and reverence as outlined in the UBC 2020 Indigenous Strategic Plan
  • support and cultivate a Faculty research culture based on principles of equity, diversity and inclusion

Julie Martin 
Assistant to the Associate Dean, Faculty and Research
250 807-9529
julie.martin@ubc.ca
ASC 455

ASSOCIATE DEAN, UNDERGRADUATE RECRUITMENT, SERVICES, AND SUCCESS

Scott Reid
Associate Professor, Biology
scott.reid@ubc.ca
250.807.8761
ASC 403

Portfolio: Provides leadership for the development, implementation and sustenance of a strategic and holistic framework that ensures success for our undergraduate students throughout their life-cycle – from prospective students to graduates – through, among others:

  • coordinated undergraduate enrolment planning and management;
  • effective and efficient recruitment activities;
  • facilitation of admission and registration of high quality students;
  • provision of excellent educational experiences, both curricular and extra-curricular;
  • promotion of community, affinity, and supportive peer networks;
  • facilitation of access to relevant services, including academic and non-academic advising and support.

Jennifer Janok
Support Services Assistant
jennifer.janok@ubc.ca
250.807.9229
ASC 414

Special Advisor, Undergraduate Recruitment, Services and Success

Trudy Kavanagh
Associate Professor of Teaching, Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences
trudy.kavanagh@ubc.ca
250.807.8754
ASC 402

Associate Dean, Teaching, Learning and Curriculum

Gino DiLabio

Gino DiLabio
Dean and Professor – Chemistry, Management
gino.dilabio@ubc.ca
250.807.8617
ASC 401

Portfolio: Provides leadership for the development, implementation, and sustenance of a strategic approach to teaching, learning, and curriculum that is of the highest quality, pedagogically sound, fiscally prudent, socially responsive and adaptive; and facilitates the realization of competencies and outcomes that reflect our core mission and values through, among others:

  • facilitation of curriculum innovation and renewal within the Faculty, of cross-Faculty and cross-institutional collaborative programs, and of related consultation, approval, and implementation processes;
  • ongoing monitoring of curriculum effectiveness;
  • formal, regularly-scheduled self-studies and external reviews of academic programs;
  • promotion of effective and efficient experiential and co-curricular learning programs;
  • support for, and enhancement of, innovative teaching and learning initiatives;
  • promotion of a culture of recognition for innovative curricula and pedagogical accomplishments.
  • coordinating undergraduate awards and recognitions that are not related to research.

ikbcurriculum.ubco@ubc.ca

Laura Wylie

Laura Wyllie
Curriculum Development & Academic Programs Manager
laura.wyllie@ubc.ca
250.807.9580
ASC 447

No Photo Available

Megan Lochhead (On Leave)
Curriculum Development & Academic Programs Manager
megan.lochhead@ubc.ca
250.807.9580
ASC 447

No Photo Available

Ashley Loura
Curriculum, Awards and Academic Programs Coordinator
ikbawardsandevents.ubco@ubc.ca
250.807.9316
ASC 447

SUPPORT TEAM PORTFOLIOS

Barb Jackson
Director of Operations and Strategic Partnerships
barb.jackson@ubc.ca
250.807.8155
ASC 449

Pieter Uni

Pieter Uni
Communications Manager
250.807.8706
pieter.uni@ubc.ca
ASC 452

Lindsay Howe
Communications & Events Coordinator
lindsay.howe@ubc.ca
250.807.9382
ASC 453

Meghan Reid
Web & Digital Media Coordinator
meg.reid@ubc.ca
250.807.8204
ASC 453

No Photo Available

Katelyn Singler
Finance Manager
katelyn.singler@ubc.ca
250.807.8285
ASC 431

No Photo Available

Gabriel Gock
Finance Assistant
gabriel.gock@ubc.ca
ASC 454
250.807.8642

Arluene King
Research Financial Analyst
arluene.king@ubc.ca
250.807.9315
ASC 431

Christel Deas

Christel Deas
MDS (Masters of Data Science) Student Support Assistant
christel.deas@ubc.ca
250.807.9125
ASC 406

Natalie Kirkwood

Natalie Kirkwood
Graduate Program Assistant, Sciences
natalie.kirkwood@ubc.ca
250.807.9289
ASC 406