Dean’s Office

Dean

Gino DiLabio
Professor – Chemistry, Management
gino.dilabio@ubc.ca
250.807.8617
ASC 401

 

Charlene Wehrmann
Assistant to the Dean
charlene.wehrmann@ubc.ca
250.807.9527
ASC 405

Heather Munn
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
heather.munn@ubc.ca
250.807.9597
ASC 413

Associate Dean Portfolios

Associate Dean, Strategic Personnel Planning and Development

Lael Parrott
Professor, Biology & Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences
lael.parrott@ubc.ca
250.807.8122
ASC 451

Portfolio: Provides leadership for the development, implementation, and sustenance of a multi-year strategic personnel plan that builds an excellent community of teachers, scholars, academic leaders, and related staff, who support our core mission through, among others:

  • ensuring an appropriate complement of faculty, academic support staff, and resources vis-à-vis education plans and student enrolment;
  • championing a culture of mutual care, collegiality, diversity, inclusivity, and equity among faculty and staff;
  • promoting proactive recruitment, retention, career advancement, recognition, and ongoing success of an excellent and diverse community of colleagues;
  • providing support for academic leaders to ensure compliance with provisions of the Collective Agreement, as well as Faculty and University policies, procedures, and guidelines;
  • facilitating professional development and succession planning for academic leaders.

Jody Ainley 
Assistant to the Associate Dean, Strategic Personnel Planning and Development
jody.ainley@ubc.ca
250.807.9234
ASC 455

ADVISOR TO THE Dean, IRVING K. BARBER FACULTY OF SCIENCE

John Klironomos
Professor, Biology
john.klironomos@ubc.ca
250.807.9254
ASC 448

Advises leadership for the planning, implementation, and sustenance of a strategic research and learning framework that supports a vibrant disciplinary and interdisciplinary research and learning community of excellent faculty; graduate and undergraduate students; and post-doctoral fellows, as well as high quality graduate programs through, among others:

  • robust mentoring initiatives, both formal and informal;
  • integration of research and teaching;
  • fostering of strategic community and academic research networks and partnerships;
  • supportive programs, policies, guidelines, and procedures to facilitate and advance research, knowledge dissemination, graduate programs, and the training of highly qualified personnel;
  • growing and safeguarding research infrastructure;
  • promotion of a culture of recognition for scholarly accomplishments;
  • ensuring appropriate and transparent allocation of fiscal, human, and physical resources for research and for graduate and post-doctoral studies.

Julie Martin
Assistant to John Klironomos
julie.martin@ubc.ca
250.807.9529
ASC 455

Associate Dean, Undergraduate Recruitment, Services, and Success

Scott Reid
Associate Professor, Biology
scott.reid@ubc.ca
250.807.8761
ASC 403

Portfolio: Provides leadership for the development, implementation and sustenance of a strategic and holistic framework that ensures success for our undergraduate students throughout their life-cycle – from prospective students to graduates – through, among others:

  • coordinated undergraduate enrolment planning and management;
  • effective and efficient recruitment activities;
  • facilitation of admission and registration of high quality students;
  • provision of excellent educational experiences, both curricular and extra-curricular;
  • promotion of community, affinity, and supportive peer networks;
  • facilitation of access to relevant services, including academic and non-academic advising and support.

Jennifer Janok
Support Services Assistant
jennifer.janok@ubc.ca
250.807.9229
ASC 414

Special Advisor, Undergraduate Recruitment, Services and Success

Trudy Kavanagh
Associate Professor of Teaching, Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences
trudy.kavanagh@ubc.ca
250.807.8754
ASC 402

Associate Dean, Teaching, Learning and Curriculum

Bernard Momer
Associate Professor, Geography
bernard.momer@ubc.ca
250.807.9406
ASC 450

Portfolio: Provides leadership for the development, implementation, and sustenance of a strategic approach to teaching, learning, and curriculum that is of the highest quality, pedagogically sound, fiscally prudent, socially responsive and adaptive; and facilitates the realization of competencies and outcomes that reflect our core mission and values through, among others:

  • facilitation of curriculum innovation and renewal within the Faculty, of cross-Faculty and cross-institutional collaborative programs, and of related consultation, approval, and implementation processes;
  • ongoing monitoring of curriculum effectiveness;
  • formal, regularly-scheduled self-studies and external reviews of academic programs;
  • promotion of effective and efficient experiential and co-curricular learning programs;
  • support for, and enhancement of, innovative teaching and learning initiatives;
  • promotion of a culture of recognition for innovative curricula and pedagogical accomplishments.
  • coordinating undergraduate awards and recognitions that are not related to research.

ikbcurriculum.ubco@ubc.ca

Laura Wylie

Laura Wyllie
Curriculum Development & Academic Programs Manager
laura.wyllie@ubc.ca
250.807.9580
ASC 447

No Photo Available

Megan Lochhead (On Leave)
Curriculum Development & Academic Programs Manager
megan.lochhead@ubc.ca
250.807.9580
ASC 447

No Photo Available

Ashley Loura
Curriculum, Awards and Academic Programs Coordinator
ikbawardsandevents.ubco@ubc.ca
250.807.9316
ASC 447

Communications Office

 

Pieter Uni

Pieter Uni
Communications Manager
250.807.8706
pieter.uni@ubc.ca
ASC 452

Lindsay Howe
Communications & Events Coordinator
lindsay.howe@ubc.ca
250.807.9382
ASC 453

Meghan Reid
Web & Digital Media Coordinator
meg.reid@ubc.ca
250.807.8204
ASC 453

Finance Support

 

No Photo Available

Katelyn Singler
Finance Manager
katelyn.singler@ubc.ca
250.807.8285
ASC 431

No Photo Available

Gabriel Gock
Finance Assistant
gabriel.gock@ubc.ca
ASC 454
250.807.8642

Arluene King
Research Financial Analyst
arluene.king@ubc.ca
250.807.9315
ASC 431

 

Administration & Operations

 

Barb Jackson
Director, Administration & Operations
barb.jackson@ubc.ca
250.807.8155
ASC 449

 

Graduate Programs

 

Christel Deas

Christel Deas
MDS (Masters of Data Science) Student Support Assistant
christel.deas@ubc.ca
250.807.9125
ASC 406

Natalie Kirkwood

Natalie Kirkwood
Graduate Program Assistant, Sciences
natalie.kirkwood@ubc.ca
250.807.9289
ASC 406