Dean’s Office

Dean pro tem

Lael Parrott
Dean pro tem, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
Professor – Biology, Earth, Environmental And Geographic Sciences
lael.parrott@ubc.ca
250.807.9527
ASC 401

 

Charlene Wehrmann
Executive Assistant to the Dean
charlene.wehrmann@ubc.ca
250.807.9527
ASC 447

 

Heather Munn
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
heather.munn@ubc.ca
250.807.9597
ASC 413

Associate Dean Portfolios

Acting Associate Dean, Faculty and Research

Edward Hornibrook
Professor
Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences
ed.hornibrook@ubc.ca
250.807.8059
SCI 313

Portfolio: Provides leadership and oversight for the Faculty’s research, scholarly activities, and collaborative initiatives and partnerships. The portfolio is also responsible for the development, implementation, and sustenance of a multi-year strategic personnel plan that promotes proactive recruitment, retention, career advancement, recognition, and ongoing success of an excellent and diverse community of colleagues. Responsibilities include, among others:

  • designing, reviewing, and implementing a Faculty research plan;
  • providing leadership in developing Faculty hiring strategies for programs and departments;
  • proving leadership and support for research initiatives that promote Indigenous inclusion and the values of respect, relationship, responsibility and reverence as outlined in the UBC 2020 Indigenous Strategic Plan
  • support and cultivate a Faculty research culture based on principles of equity, diversity and inclusion

T. Don Nguyen
Manager, Research & Strategic Initiatives
250.807.9059
don.nguyen@ubc.ca
ASC 455

Jody Ainley 
Assistant, Strategic Personnel Planning and Development
jody.ainley@ubc.ca
250.807.9234
ASC 447

Tiffany Gross
Faculty and Research Administrative Assistant
250.807.8804
tiffany.gross@ubc.ca
ASC 414

Associate Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Training

Andrew Jirasek
Professor
Physics
andrew.jirasek@ubc.ca
250.807.8812
ASC 354

Portfolio: Provides administrative and academic, leadership, management, and support for research-based graduate students and postdoctoral trainees. Promotes community, affinity, and supportive peer networks to continue to advance programs and activities within the faculty. Responsibilities include, among others:

Graduate Students

  • Facilitates recruitment, admission, registration, and advising of high-quality graduate students;
  • Meets and provides guidance and support for student leaders representing the various program graduate student societies;
  • Works with the curriculum committee, departments, faculty and the College of Graduate Studies on Interdisciplinary and
  • Disciplinary Programs and opportunities;
  • Provides oversight for graduate student awards and support for student scholarship applications.

Postdoctoral Trainees:

  • Provides leadership and oversight for the development and implementation of policies and guidelines for supporting postdoctoral trainees;
  • Develops, sustains and supports a culture of postdoctoral training across the faculty;
  • Represents the faculty on committees and liaises with UBC Okanagan’s Postdoctoral Association;
  • Provides support for nomination packages for externally-funded postdoctoral opportunities.
Lindsay Odne

Lindsay Odne
Manager, Graduate & Postdoctoral Training
lindsay.odne@ubc.ca
ASC 414

Associate Dean, Students (Undergraduate Recruitment, Services and Success)

Scott Reid

Scott Reid
Associate Professor
Biology
scott.reid@ubc.ca
250.807.8761
ASC 403

Portfolio: Provides leadership for the development, implementation and sustenance of a strategic and holistic framework that ensures success for our undergraduate students throughout their life-cycle – from prospective students to graduates – through, among others:

  • coordinated undergraduate enrolment planning and management;
  • effective and efficient recruitment activities;
  • facilitation of admission and registration of high-quality students;
  • provision of excellent educational experiences, both curricular and extra-curricular;
  • promotion of community, affinity, and supportive peer networks;
  • Facilitating access to relevant services, including academic and non-academic advising and support.
Sarah Furgason

Sarah Furgason
Student Support Assistant
fos.students.ubco@ubc.ca
ASC 414

Associate Dean, Academic and Awards

Trudy Kavanagh
Associate Professor of Teaching
Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences
trudy.kavanagh@ubc.ca
250.807.8754
ASC 448

Portfolio: Provides leadership for the development, implementation, and sustenance of a strategic approach to teaching, learning, and curriculum that is of the highest quality, pedagogically sound, fiscally prudent, socially responsive and adaptive; and facilitates the realization of competencies and outcomes that reflect our core mission and values through, among others:

  • facilitation of curriculum innovation and renewal within the Faculty, of cross-Faculty and cross-institutional collaborative programs, and of related consultation, approval, and implementation processes;
  • ongoing monitoring of curriculum effectiveness;
  • formal, regularly-scheduled self-studies and external reviews of academic programs;
  • promotion of effective and efficient experiential and co-curricular learning programs;
  • support for, and enhancement of, innovative teaching and learning initiatives;
  • promotion of a culture of recognition for innovative curricula and pedagogical accomplishments.
  • coordinating undergraduate awards and recognitions that are not related to research.

Department email: foscurriculum.ubco@ubc.ca

Megan Lochhead

Megan Lochhead
Curriculum & Academic Programs Manager
megan.lochhead@ubc.ca
foscurriculum.ubco@ubc.ca
ASC 406

Ashley Cinnamon

Ashley Cinnamon
Curriculum & Awards Assistant
foscurriculum.ubco@ubc.ca
fosawards.ubco@ubc.ca
ASC 406

SUPPORT TEAM PORTFOLIOS

June Hansen

June Hansen
Manager, Administration and Operations
june.hansen@ubc.ca
ASC 451

 

Lindsay Howe

Lindsay Howe
Communications Manager
lindsay.howe@ubc.ca
250.807.9382
ASC 455

Kat Bensler
Web, Digital Media and Content Creation Coordinator
kat.bensler@ubc.ca
ASC 454

Josie Leung
Web, Digital Media and Promotional Event Coordinator
josie.leung@ubc.ca
ASC 454

Hillary-Huynh

Hillary Huynh
Communications and Digital Media Assistant
hillary.huynh@ubc.ca

Marissa Liebel

Marissa Liebel (On Leave)
Communications and Events Coordinator
marissa.liebel@ubc.ca

Katelyn-Singler

Katelyn Singler
Finance Manager
katelyn.singler@ubc.ca
ASC 431

No Photo Available

Gabriel Gock
Finance Assistant
gabriel.gock@ubc.ca
ASC 405
250.807.8642