Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science welcomes Gino DiLabio as inaugural Dean

Prof. Gino DiLabio appointed Dean, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science

UBC’s Board of Governors has approved the appointment of Professor Gino DiLabio as the inaugural Dean of the new Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science.

Prof. DiLabio is a well-recognized expert in computational chemistry, physical organic chemistry, and nanoscience. His work has earned him a number of international awards and honours throughout his career.

He joined UBC’s Okanagan campus in 2014 as the head of its Department of Chemistry. During his term as head, the department saw a significant transformation in research activity.

Before joining UBC Okanagan, Prof. DiLabio worked at the National Research Council of Canada’s (NRC) Steacie Institute for Molecular Science and National Institute for Nanotechnology (NINT).

Prof. DiLabio begins his five-year term on September 1, 2020.